Of Sundays and Mondays

I woke up to a super messy house this morning. The dishwasher needed to be emptied. There were clothes that had been sitting in the washer for…. well, awhile. Legos were all over the living room floor. The trash was almost overflowing. I don’t even want to mention the state of the office.

And you know what? That’s exactly how I like it on a Monday morning.

Now before you start thinking I’ve finally really lost it, let me explain.

When my house is extremely messy on Monday, it is almost always because of how little I did the day before.

When I got up this morning, I could tell I hadn’t spent my Sunday doing laundry or dishes, cleaning or cooking.

I spent it resting.

That’s how we do the Sabbath in our house.

I’ll be honest with you, it isn’t always easy. In fact, sometimes it’s harder for me to ignore a pile of dishes in favor of snuggling with my family or taking a nap that it would be just to wash them.

Sabbath-ing is hard. It is a command we often forget in this busy society. But it is the right thing to do.

“There remains a Sabbath-rest for the people of God, for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work, just as God did from his. Let us then make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will fall by following their example of disobedience.” Hebrews 4:9-11

And as backwards as it sounds, I never regret it, even when it means more work for me on Monday. Somehow, after a day of rest, it all just seems easier.

A lot of God’s commands are like that. Love your enemy. Give away ten percent of your income to be financially prosperous. March around the wall of Jericho instead of besieging it.

They seem upside-down, but they work.

So if you really want to get the most out of your work week, be sure to take a day off. Don’t be like the Israelites who were too afraid of the obstacles they could see to trust an unseen God for help in taking the Promised Land.

Rest in his promises.

And rest on the Sabbath.

Leave a Reply

