Heart

A new beginning


As it turns out, I read Proverbs 31 this morning as a part of my Bible reading. I’ve been planning to launch this blog today for about a month, and somehow it seems fitting that I would read the inspiration for the entire thing just hours before my first post.

I love everything about the epilogue to the book of Proverbs. Nearly every time I read it, I find new insight. As I thought about my desire to begin a blog, I knew I needed a plan; I wanted my posts to focus around something specific. I knew I wanted this blog to be a place where I might, in some small way, encourage other women as they seek to serve their husbands and manage their homes. But I didn’t know how to decide what would fit in this blog and what wouldn’t. That is, until one day when I happened to glance over Proverbs 31. It occurred to me that if I focus on writing about the virtues outlined in that famous passage, I would find perfect expression for all the things I hold dearest to my heart. The woman in Proverbs 31 loves her family, keeps a tidy house, is conscientious with her money, and serves the Lord. This is a more than sufficient aim for life, let alone blog topics.

But that is what this blog will be – a place where I will hopefully encourage you to be the wife of noble character that God is calling each of us to be. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me – I am looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

