Heart · Home

On not giving up


Eating from the pantry may have taught me a thing or two about perseverance. There were a couple of times (especially when I ran out of coffee) that I really wanted to give up on the whole thing. But I didn’t, and on the other side of that challenge, I’m really glad that I stuck with it.

That being said, perseverance is still most definitely not my strongest trait. I told my husband yesterday that it’s a good thing I can’t really “give up” on having a baby at this point (25 weeks into my pregnancy) because I don’t think I’d be able to stick with it if I had any choice.

Last night I was lying in bed reading, and was beyond uncomfortable. I wrote in my journal: “I don’t know how I’m going to make it another 105 days, especially with the baby getting bigger that whole time.” Part of me knows I still need that long to get ready for his arrival, but most of me would have him tomorrow if I could and he’d be healthy.

Thankfully, I can’t give up that easily. I already make the choice back in August that I was willing to go through what it took to become a mom, and now there is no turning back. Something that has helped me put things in perspective is the book of Job, which I’m reading right now. I’m not sure any of us have it as bad as he did. He lost all of his material possessions the same day his 10 children died. He was inflicted with a disease that I imagine is much more miserable than my pregnancy discomforts, and the people he trusted most for comfort and a listening ear just added to his misery with their insults. And yet through it all, Job continued to serve and trust the Lord.

Job 15:25-26 puts it like this:
I know that my redeemer lives,
and that in the end he will stand on the earth.
And after my skin has been destroyed,
yet…I will see God.

No matter what situation you’re facing today, I hope you don’t give up. Take comfort from Job’s words this morning – your Redeemer lives, and after all is said and done, you will see his face!

Leave a Reply

