Recipes

Chocolate Chip cookies

I snagged a great deal on some flour yesterday. You may not be as excited about this as I am, but Dillon’s had Gold Medal flour on sale for $1.99. When I combined that deal with the $0.75 printable coupon here (which they “doubled” to a dollar), I got 10 pounds of flour for just over $2.00 after tax!

In honor of that great deal, and the fact that I intend to do a LOT of baking this month to stock my freezer, I decided to participate in LifeasMOM‘s “Recipes that use flour” recipe swap.

I’ve already shared with you my favorite banana bread recipe. Hands down, my other favorite thing to make would be chocolate chip cookies. In fact, I’ll be making a whole bunch this week. This recipe is one I’ve been making since I was 7 years old, when I got the Boxcar Children Cookbook for my birthday. I think this recipe and the brownie recipe on the facing page are the only two things I’ve ever made out of this cookbook. But this one recipe has definitely seen enough use to make the cookbook purchase a worthwhile one!

“Dr. Moore’s Favorite Brown Cookies”
1 1/3 c. margarine, softened
2 cups brown sugar (I always use dark brown – I like it best)
2 eggs
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. vanilla
3 cups flour
1 12-oz bag chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream together sugar and margarine. Add eggs, baking soda, and vanilla. Stir in flour, one cup at a time. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop dough by spoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake cookies 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown. Makes 5 dozen cookies.

Check out the other great recipes in the recipe swap here.

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip cookies

  1. This just makes me sad that regular flour makes David sick. Gluten Free flour is so expensive, but baking things gluten free is still cheaper than buying things pre made.

    Once he and I are married and living together, I'll be posting a lot more about cooking gluten-free. It's too bad it's so expensive. These brownies sound good! You can't just substitute regular flour with some kind of gluten-free flour (rice, potato, sorghum, etc) because gluten acts as a sticky agent that holds everything together. without it, things crumble. you also have to add something like xanthum gum to keep it all stuck.

    Pain! I'll miss flour a lot.

Leave a Reply

