Marriage

…for as long as we both shall live

Two years ago today, I said those words to my husband Jason. We stood in front of all our friends and family and pledged to love each other for all the time the Lord will give us. I still can’t believe it’s been two years.

I’m really glad, though, that we saw our wedding not as a finish line to cross, but as the beginning that it truly was. Our wedding day was one of the most magical days of my life. But it was just another day. Only 24 hours. And marriage is not lived in that single moment, but in the 730 days that have followed.

Marriage is not always as fun as putting on a beautiful white dress and going to a great party. Sometimes marriage is holding each other at a funeral, or rearranging your schedule because one of the cars broke down, or talking late into the night about an uncertain future. But I wouldn’t trade even those moments. Because walking through those moments together is what makes laughing at the Sonic drive-in or walking through the neighborhood hand-in-hand so special.

After two years, Jason has seen more than enough of my flaws to be unhappy with me. But he loves me in spite of those things. And there is so much more security in that than in a one-day wedding celebration. It reminds me of our Father’s love for us. He sees our weaknesses and faults on an even deeper level than a spouse does. Psalm 139 says that before a word is on our tongue, he knows it completely. And yet he loves us.

On my wedding day, I walked down the aisle toward my future to the song “So this is love,” from Cinderella. But we wanted people to understand that our marriage was just a glimpse, a poor reflection of the love Jesus has for each of us. So I’ll leave you with the same scripture we shared with our wedding guests:

“This is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his son as an atoning sacrifice for us.” 1 John 4:10

One thought on “…for as long as we both shall live

Leave a Reply

