Home

Nesting

transitive verb, to form a nest for

I’ve been preparing for maternity leave for weeks at work, trying to make sure everything will go smoothly for my office in my absence. But at nearly 36 weeks pregnant, eight-hour work days are really starting to take a toll on me. By the time I got home, I didn’t want to do anything. That is, until yesterday.

I don’t know if it’s because my doctor’s appointments are every week now, or because my mother-in-law told me my nephew was born 5 weeks early, but I was fluttering around the house all evening. I got out bags to take to the hospital, reorganized my “baby” notes, and cleaned out the linen closet.

Tonight I’m planning on going to Wal-Mart to stock on some essentials (read: toilet paper.) With church tonight, that’s probably all I’ve time for… but I may clean out the carton of ice cream in the freezer, too. After all, there’s no sense in letting that single serving of Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough take up all that space.

Leave a Reply

