Books & Reading

Summer Reading


Since one of my goals for June was to read some good books, I thought I’d share with you what I’ve been reading (and planning to read) lately.

Thanks to the encouragement of my husband, I’ve read a lot more non-fiction titles in the last year than I had much before that. But given that my degree is in English Literature, I think it goes without saying that I adore fiction. I am a firm believer that a summer reading list should be chock-full of novels. Some of my fondest memories for as far back as I can remember are of lazy summer afternoons, stretched out with a good book.

When I was 7, it was the Boxcar Children series.
When I was 9, it was The Phantom Tollbooth.
When I was 14, it was Litte House on the Prairie.
When I was 19, it was Gone with the Wind.

Now I am 24, and I would still read all of the above titles. I adore returning to a treasured story over and over again. But I also love the adventure of picking my way through a new story. Here’s what I’m reading:

The Bean Trees, by Barbara Kingsolver
The Twilight Saga, by Stephanie Meyer (given its extreme popularity, and the release of the third movie this summer, Jason and I thought it would be prudent to see what all the fuss was about. It helps us relate to what the teenagers in our youth group are currently interested in, as well as form our own opinions in the event that a parent asks us what we think of the fad.)
A Lineage of Grace, by Francine Rivers
First Light, by Bodie and Brock Thoene
Under Cover, by John Bevere

and, of course, Curious George, by Margaret and H.A. Rey.

Leave a Reply

