Marriage

my Mr. Right


Today is Jason’s birthday, and in honor of this special day I am reposting something I wrote a long time ago. I am relatively new to grown-up blogging, but I’ve been in the blogging world for a long time. I started my first blog on Open Diary about eight years ago, back when social networking was just for teenagers. My longest blogging venture was on Xanga; I posted regularly on that blog for over 2 years.

Anyway, I was reading through my posts the other day and stumbled across this post from March 7, 2006. God has answered all of these prayers and given me abundantly more!

“Then the LORD God said, ‘It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.'”
Genesis 2:18

Lord, I don’t know whose helper I am, or for whom you have made me “just right,” but I pray that you will be with him tonight. Shape him into a man who follows after you with all of his heart; who doesn’t back down from the challenge of winning my heart, but is strengthened by You to take risks. Cultivate in him a sensitivity to your voice, and a willingness to follow you wherever you lead. Bless him with godly friends, both male and female, who build him up and encourage him and prepare him to be my husband. Protect his mind from the attacks of the enemy; reveal to him Your truth so that the lies of Satan won’t gain a foothold in his life. Protect him from gossip; let his integrity be so unblemished that no one will believe lies spoken against him. Make him strong in the areas where I am weak, so that he will be an encouragement to me. Give him strength in all the trials he goes through to become the man of character a godly leader must be. Teach him to obey you in practical ways. Let his trust always be in You, his Provider, for his daily bread, but guide him in being a good steward of that which you do give him. Bring children into his life; teach him to be a good father who will hold his children to high standards, but always be loving and kind with them, even when firm discipline is required. Give him an added measure of your presence; let his sleep tonight be sweet as he rests in you, and may he awaken tomorrow with an awareness of you working faithfully in his life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

