Heart

"Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth…"

Our first year Master’s Commission students will memorize over 250 scripture verses this year alone. If they continue into their second year, they’ll commit another 200 to memory. Can you say WOW? This is one of my favorite things about the MC program; Jason and I both believe that a thorough knowledge of Scripture will, more than anything else, spur students on to a deeper, fuller relationship with Christ.

When I was in college, I read Foxe’s Book of Martyr’s, and I found that more often than not, an in-depth study of scripture was the catalyst that sparked the fire in these amazing men and women of God and caused them to live lives of such devotion to the Lord that they were willing to lay their lives down for his kingdom. I don’t know about you, but I want to live like that.

This week, our students are working on memorizing these passages:

“O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD. You hem me in–behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there. If I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me, even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”
-Psalm 139:1-16

“But, dear friends, remember what the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ foretold. They said to you ‘In the last times there will be scoffers who will follow their own ungodly desires.’ These are the men who divide you, who follow mere natural instincts and do not have the Spirit. But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit. Keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life. Be merciful to those who doubt, snatch others from the fire and save them; to others show mercy mixed with fear–hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh. To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy–to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.
-Jude 17-25

The past few weeks, I have looked at the passages they were working on a few times throughout the week, and have tried to meditate upon them, but this week, I want to do more. After reading Kat’s great post about the importance of memorizing Scripture this morning, I’m inspired to actually commit at least one, if not both of these passages to memory.

What do you think about memorizing scripture? Do you think it’s important? What is your favorite Bible verse?

One thought on “"Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth…"

  1. Great post! Yes, memorizing Scripture is vital to victorious living. My friend and I hold each other accountable to memorizing (and other things.) It helps to have a little pressure knowing that you have to recite for someone; it gets the job done!

Leave a Reply

