Heart

Turning off the computer

I turned off my computer last Monday and left it like that for a whole week. As best as I remember anyway. I might have cheated a couple of times. The point is, I tried to go without the computer. I checked email and facebook a few times on my iPod Touch (thanks, sis!), but most other websites were so much of a hassle on the little thing that I didn’t bother.

It wasn’t exactly a strict fast, or anything, I just wanted a break. And I was surprised at how nice it was. And how much I didn’t miss it. And how easy it was to catch up later. I spent only slightly more time going through a weeks’ worth of emails, facebook posts, and reader feeds today than I would have a single day’s information on any other day of the week.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the blogs I follow. And I learn a lot of things that I wouldn’t have otherwise. I realized, though, that too much of a good thing (like for instance, Halloween candy, or time spent reading blogs) can be detrimental. The amount of information I usually process in a single day is overwhelming to me now that I’ve gone a week without it.

So many people out there have brilliant ideas – good recipes, fun crafts, ways of saving money, ways to decorate your house, tips for getting better pictures, etc… that I want to try them all. But I can’t. I’ve been trying. And it’s made me a little frazzled.

Ironically, having the computer off has given me more time to actually do some of those things. I’m reading more. I’m playing more with my baby (because after all, he won’t be a baby forever). And I’m sprucing up my house. All because I stayed away from this pesky machine.

Don’t worry, though. I’ll be around. But if every once in awhile you don’t see me online for some time, you’ll know why.

Leave a Reply

