Holidays

Thankfulness

I’ve only spent one Thanksgiving with my family in the last four years. In 2006, I was in Volos, Greece, eating dinner with classmates in the banquet room of a hotel. In 2008 and 2009 I was in Winter Park, Colorado, working so much I barely had time to scarf down turkey and dressing from the buffet.

But this year, I am at home. I can watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade all morning if I want to (as long as Jason will let me, that is). I can enjoy the smell of things baking in my oven throughout the day. And I can spend hours around the table with my family, stuffing myself until I’m sick, and then get that “happy feeling nothing in the world can buy…” when dessert is served.

And for that, I am extremely thankful.

What are you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

