Heart

Today

I’m a compulsive planner. I like lists and I like to be prepared. For example, I often make a list of what to pack for vacation a week before we leave. (Am I the only one who does this?) For the most part, this quality serves me well; I am often very well-prepared for things that come my way.

But the downside of this habit is that it often robs me of appreciating the here and now. Like when I’m sitting in Caleb’s room rocking him, trying to figure out where we’ll put furniture when we have two kids. Why am I wasting my energy worrying about that now?

I don’t want to go so overboard with planning for the future that I miss out on today.

Today, the nursery is a perfect fit for our one baby.

Today, we have plenty of food to eat.

Today, I have an excellent book to read.

Today, there is room in the kitchen cabinets for all of our dishes.

Today, Caleb has an outfit to wear that fits him.

I’m not going to spoil all these things by obsessing about when those statements will no longer apply to our lives; I’ll tackle those problems when they come.

When I was very young, there was a time we were struggling to make ends meet as a family. My tendency to over-think everything had already surfaced, and I was worried that at some point we wouldn’t be able to afford groceries. My parents assured me that God would provide for us, and pointed me to this verse:

“Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.” – Matthew 6:34

If that’s the case, then I’d like just today’s troubles, please.

Leave a Reply

