Church

A year of harvest

That’s what we’re calling this year in our church. We believe that God has given us a unique position in this city. Despite the vast number of churches in the area, there are still plenty of people who need to hear the good news of Jesus. And we want to do something about it.

I went out with my mom yesterday to see a very dear friend of hers from many years ago, and as we were visiting Mom mentioned a post I had written a long time ago about harvesting. I was studying in Volos, Greece at the time, and we’d had the incredible opportunity to go to a vineyard and harvest some of the grapes to make our own wine for science class. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. But though the experience has stayed with me, I had completely forgotten the spiritual insight that accompanied that day, or that I had written about it.

So as our church heads into a 21-day focus on prayer and fasting, as we seek to better hear the voice of God in our lives and as a congregation, and as we desire to him pour out his Spirit on our church and on our city, I thought it would be appropriate to share these thoughts with you:

(Originally posted to xanga.com on October 16, 2006)

Today I had the amazing privilege of going to a vineyard in the countryside and harvesting some of the grapes. It was definitely a lot of fun, and God really spoke some encouragement into my life while I was there. I am frustrated at the lostness of my friends – I know Jesus is what they need, and I’m doing my best to live like Him in front of them and take opportunities to share Him with them, but it isn’t what they seem to want. But grape picking was kind of difficult, too, because the rain has ruined a lot of the crops. Jesus gently reminded me that even when the harvest is a bountiful one, you have to go along the vines and pick the bunches of grapes, ONE by ONE. And when it isn’t, you have to go along and search for the grapes that are good for picking. It takes patience, because not many are. So that’s where I am: trying to harvest, but patiently searching for those that are ready.

2 thoughts on “A year of harvest

Leave a Reply

