Heart

Snow day

“When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.” Proverbs 31:21

Today, I am thankful to be warm and dry. A major storm swept through the midwest yesterday, and left us all with several inches of snow. But our house did not lose power, and we are comfortably relaxing while the city takes a couple of days to recover.

I think it’s pretty telling that the woman in Proverbs 31 was not only prepared for a snowstorm, but also had no fear in the midst of it. How many people can say this when inclement weather threatens their neck of the woods? The empty shelves at Walmart on Monday night would suggest not very many. Now I’m not saying that it’s a bad idea to pick up an extra loaf of bread when it looks like you might be stuck in your house for a couple of days. However, a lot of people take it a lot further than that, and spend the days leading up to bad weather fraught with worry.

I don’t want to be like that. Because my household will be clothed in scarlet in the midst of any storm we face. And I don’t just mean we have red clothes (although I do have a very comfy worn-in college hoodie of that color), but I mean we will be covered by the scarlet blood of Jesus.

As the snow was approaching our area on Monday, I read to Caleb from his Bible storybook the story of Jesus calming the storm. And I was reminded that I have no reason to fear a storm because I serve a God who speaks, and the wind and waves listen. After all, his voice was the one that spoke them into existence.

2 thoughts on “Snow day

Leave a Reply

