Heart · Marriage

What I’ve been thinking about lately



“Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands.” Titus 2:4

This Bible verse is hanging on my refrigerator. I stumbled across it a couple of weeks ago, and haven’t been able to get it off my mind since. I had read it before, of course, probably many times, but this time, something struck a chord with me. This is my new mission statement.

I have been thinking especially about what it means to be “busy at home.” So often these days, we lament being busy. But the truth is, every single one of the 24 hours we’re given each day will be filled with something. I don’t want to be haggard, but I don’t want to be slothful, either. Being busy doesn’t have to be a bad a thing. In fact, here, Paul commands it. As a young wife, my responsibility is to be busy at home. Maybe the problem comes when we’re too busy outside the home. I don’t know. I’m just thinking out loud here.

I hope you’ll think with me.

What does it mean to be busy at home?
What does it mean to truly love your husband and children?
What does it mean to be self controlled and pure?
What does it mean to be kind?
And, perhaps, most challenging of all in this modern age, what does it mean to be subject to your husband?

I’d love to hear your opinion!

One thought on “What I’ve been thinking about lately

Leave a Reply

