Books & Reading

What I’ve been reading lately

Long summer days like these always remind me of happy childhood memories of getting a big pile of books from the library and making my way through them. I was an avid reader as a child, so the endless hours of free time in the summer were a perfect opportunity to spend days on end doing what I loved. My poor mother was desperate to get me outside, and sometimes had to make me go play outdoors. Even then, though, I’d often grab a book, climb my favorite tree, and simply read from a new perch.

I love summer reading.

I also know that I’m not going to have a lot of free time in the fall, with an active toddler AND a new baby both vying for my attention. So I’m trying to get my fill of good books in before I enter that new season of life.

When I used to blog (many moons ago) on Xanga, one of my favorite things about the format was a feature where I could share what I was reading or listening to at the beginning of each post. I strove to always make sure it was a different book or album than I’d posted the time before. I wish this blog had that feature.

Since it doesn’t, I thought I’d share with you some of the things I’ve been reading lately. I have a pretty eclectic taste in books, so whatever kind of reading you’re up to this summer, I hope I can recommend something you’ll enjoy:

And the Shofar Blew by Francine Rivers

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

In the Grip of Grace by Max Lucado

Jim and Casper Go to Church by Jim ?

Don’t Panic, More Dinner’s In the Freezer, by Susie Martinez, Vanda Howell, & Bonnie Garcia

From Hope to Higher Ground by Mike Huckabee

Putting Up: A Year-Round Guide to Canning in the Southern Tradition by Stephen Dowdney

Decision Points by George W. Bush

What have you been reading this summer??

**EDIT – August 24, 2011: Since this post, I’ve also re-read Babywise in preparation for my new little one’s arrival, along with The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers, Love Wins by Rob Bell and Erasing Hell by Francis Chan
Leave a Reply

