Heart

In the morning

“They wander about for food and howl if not satisfied.” Psalm 59:15

I came across this verse in my Bible reading this morning. In this psalm, David is praying to God for deliverance from his enemies, and this is one of the ways he describes them me who are conspiring against him. But this verse caught my attention, and I had to go back and read it a couple more times, because it sounds a little bit like it could have been written about my boys.

"I'm so hungry I'm eating my own hand!"

Some days, it seems like all I do is rush in and out of the kitchen, shoveling food into the mouths of the hungry, growing, testosterone-filled bodies the Lord has given me. Between Caleb’s sweet “mo?” and Jason’s “do you think Garrett could be hungry again?” it’s a miracle I don’t order pizza every night.

That’s why I love the next verse: “But I will sing of your strength, in the morning, I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble” (Psalm 59:16).

No matter what today’s challenges bring, my strength comes from the Lord. I look to him this morning.

One thought on “In the morning

Leave a Reply

