Home

Who needs milestones? I’ll take a normal week, thank you.

We’ve had a lot of firsts in our house the last few weeks.

And I’m not talking about exciting, can’t-wait-for that-moment firsts, like a baby’s first smile or first steps. I’m talking about lousy, painful, firsts you kind of dread.

Like the first time you have to take care of two kids overnight by yourself.

Or your little boy’s first ear infection and first round of antibiotics.

Or even (and this is going to sound super unspiritual) the fist day of a three week church-wide fast.

So while my coffee pot has not needed me the last eight days, you can see that my babies have. So much more than my computer. In fact, I think this is the first time I’ve even been on a computer at all since last Wednesday.

I hope you didn’t miss me too much. We just seem to be in a crazy busy season of life right now. That’s why I am so encouraged when I remember Solomon’s wise words in the book of Ecclesiastes:

“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven. A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest. A time to kill and a time to heal. A time to tear down and a time to build up.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1-3)

This too shall pass.

We survived the week without Jason, just fine, for those of you who are wondering. And blessedly, Caleb didn’t get sick until Jason was just hours away from being home.

The fast, too, is going well. As much as I dread denying myself anything, I know it is right and good for me. And the Lord, in his graciousness, is speaking delightful things to me even though nursing Garrett limits my ability to fully participate in this fast the way I’d like. But those revelations are for another time in another post.

For now, I am just thankful that no matter how long this crazy season lasts, Jesus, who is both the first and the last, will be with me in the midst of it.

Have a wonderful week!

2 thoughts on “Who needs milestones? I’ll take a normal week, thank you.

Leave a Reply

