Recipes

That’s the way the cookie crumbles

I love cookies.

When I was growing up, my mom made cookies and brownies far more often than she made pie or cake, so they have always been my dessert of choice.

My favorite cookies are chocolate chip. Specifically these chocolate chip cookies.

I’ve been in love with this specific cookie recipe for almost exactly 19 years now. How do I know how long it’s been, you ask? Simple–the recipe is in the Boxcar Children cookbook that I received as a gift for my seventh birthday. My parents still have a video of me wearing Beauty and the Beast stretch pants with a matching shirt, opening the cookbook, rainbow shoelaces, and a box of checkers, etc. It was a good birthday.

I can only hope Friday will measure up.

On Friday, I will be twenty-six, marking the nineteenth anniversary (or thereabouts) of my discovery of the perfect chocolate chip cookie, so I thought I’d remind you, my few and faithful readers, of this amazing recipe.

“Dr. Moore’s Favorite Brown Cookies”
1 1/3 c. butter, softened
2 cups brown sugar (I always use dark brown – I like it best)
2 eggs
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. vanilla
3 cups flour
1 12-oz bag chocolate chips

Cream together sugar and margarine. Add eggs, baking soda, and vanilla. Stir in flour, one cup at a time. Fold in chocolate chips.

That’s your batter.

Now for the important part – baking. Do you know the secret to the perfect, chewy cookie? (If you want crunchy cookies I can’t help you; I only ever make cookies crunchy by accident.)

Bake the cookies on the low end of the time given, until they’re just set. (For these cookies, I use a one-once scoop to form the cookies and bake 10 minutes at 375 degrees.)

Here they are, baking away:Image

Pull them out of the oven. Then, as tempting as it is to grab one of those hot gooey cookies and shove the whole thing in your mouth, exercise self-control. Let them sit on the cookie sheet another five or ten minutes.

Here’s the neat part: they will keep baking on that hot cookie sheet. Not as much as if they were in the oven, but just enough to keep them from being so gooey they fall apart.

Then you can transfer them to a cooling rack on your kitchen counter and bake some more.Image

If you noticed there are only ten cookies here, you would be correct. I cannot comment on the whereabouts of the other two cookies, except to say that they were delicious.

So if you need a pick-me-up after school or work snack for this Monday (or any other day) try this recipe. You won’t be disappointed.

One thought on “That’s the way the cookie crumbles

  1. I just passed this recipe onto my coworker. My story is about the same. I got this cookbook from a book order in 3rd grade and it has been my one and only chocolate chip cookie recipe for 20 years! Mine disappear right out of the oven as well:)

Leave a Reply

