Home

Brothers don’t shake hands…

“There are ‘friends’ who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.” Proverbs 18:24

You know what I love about this verse? The comparison it uses. The best kind of friend sticks closer than a brother. It’s as if the psalmist said to himself, “how can I convey the closeness of a true friend?” and tried to come up with the closest relationship he could think of to use in comparison, and the best he could come up with was brotherhood.

I have no personal knowledge of this relationship. I am not anyone’s brother, nor do I have a brother. When I was about 14, I begged my mom for a little brother, but that never happened. Looking back, I don’t really blame her. I do have three wonderful brothers-in-law whom I love, but I don’t think that’s quite the same. So I can’t really assess whether or not brotherhood is the best comparison for a close friendship.

I sure hope it is, though.

You know why?

Because of these brothers.

Aren’t they sweet?

I know they won’t always be that way. I am sure there will be moments of “Stay on your side” and “Don’t hit him” and “For the last time, leave your brother alone.”

But I also hope there will be many more moments like this one, where they are absolutely thrilled to be in each other’s presence, facing the world together. And I also hope, that aside from Jesus, neither Caleb nor Garrett ever has a friend whom he considers closer than his brother.

One thought on “Brothers don’t shake hands…

Leave a Reply

