Church · Heart

I need you

It’s true. I need you.

I wish I didn’t.

I don’t mean any offense by that, I’m just independent. I’d prefer not to have to rely on anyone but myself.

I get this idea in my head sometimes that I might be able to do this whole life in Christ thing on my own – just me and Jesus. Steady, unchanging Jesus. He knows my thoughts, so I don’t have to find the right words to explain them. He never misunderstands my intentions. He never dumps his own problems on me, he just keeps taking my burdens upon himself.

But with you it’s a different story. And that’s not your fault. I am as screwed up as you are. I overreact and say the wrong thing at the wrong time, and take things out on people when my problems are not their fault.

I’m not blaming you; I really am not. It’s just that when we get both our screwed-up selves together, it gets messy.

You need me to listen when I want to talk. I need you to be strong for me when all you are feeling is weakness. You judge me through an unfair lens of your past experience. I do something without thinking. Your feelings get hurt. My feelings get hurt. We try to work it out, and we cry and stumble for words, desperately trying to understand and be understood.

See what I mean? Messy.

So if it’s all the same to you, I’d rather just handle my faith on my own and not get you involved.

Except….

…it doesn’t work that way.

You see, without you, I can’t be the church.

“You are members of God’s family. Together, we are his house, built on the foundation of the apostles and the prophets. And the cornerstone is Christ Jesus himself. We are carefully joined together in him, becoming a holy temple for the Lord.” Ephesians 2:19-21 (emphasis added)

My journey towards holiness, towards becoming a more suitable dwelling place for the Spirit of the Almighty God, doesn’t happen without you. We only become the church as we grow together.

So I need you.

I don’t want to need you, but I do.

And you know what? You need me, too.

One thought on “I need you

Leave a Reply

