Home

Keepin’ it real

One of my friends posted this question on Facebook today:

“How do all the supermoms out there do it? Working, cooking, packing lunches, dishes, laundry….”

I’ve wondered the same thing many times. But I have a theory. Are you ready for it? Here it is: There are no supermoms.

We are all pretending.

I don’t think we do it on purpose. We clean up for church on Sunday, and smile at the other moms who have done the same. And then, for some reason, we assume they always look that gorgeous, while we go home and put on sweatpants and sweep our hair up into ponytails.

We check Facebook, and we see them cataloging their successes (“Great day for a picnic in the park!” “Homemade bread coming out of the oven!” “My big boy went on the potty today!”) and suppose that they never have bad days. While the truth is, your friend only went to the park because she couldn’t stand another minute cooped up in the house with the kids. Your other friend made bread because none of her kids will nap at the same time, so she can’t make it to the store to buy any bread for a PB & J dinner. And your third friend, she may have gotten her kid to potty, but only after weeks of tears and frustration.

But that isn’t the picture we see. All we see is the shiny, pretty, results of the hard days we all face when no one is looking. So in the interest of full disclosure, and the abandonment of the super-mom myth, I offer the following truths about my life this week:

  • I went three days without a shower.
  • Garrett screamed at the top of his lungs for 20 minutes straight last night before going to sleep.
  • The boys were in their pajamas until 3 in the afternoon on Thursday.
  • I had to fish a bent-up baby food jar lid out of the garbage disposal with my bare hands.
  • I got the boys dressed and to the library by 10:30 on Tuesday, only to find out there was no story time this week.
  • I went over my weekly grocery budget by $20.00, and I still have no idea what to fix for dinner tonight or tomorrow.
  • I forgot to read my Bible yesterday.
  • I had cereal for lunch twice.
  • I lost my temper for no good reason more than once.
  • I left a load of clothes in the dryer for two days straight.

And here’s the kicker: this was pretty much a normal week. And I’d wager to guess that your normal weeks go a lot like that behind the scenes, too. So let’s stop pretending that we have it all together. Life is messy, and parenting is hard.

For everyone.

Nobody has it all together.

And you know what? That’s a good thing. Because if we did, we wouldn’t need Jesus.

3 thoughts on “Keepin’ it real

  1. You nailed it! Thanks for being honest, vulnerable, and simply real! I had a week much like yours…except add poop on the carpet instead of in the potty. I decided to just put the diapers back on before I lost it. Keeping the smiles…and, yes, it’s hard. No supermom costume at my house.

Leave a Reply

