Books & Reading

Seven quick summer reading reviews

Despite the fact that I’ve been out of school several years, summer is still the time I seem to catch up on a lot of reading. Here are some quick reviews of what’s been on my shelf lately.

Dinner: A Love Story, by Jenny Rosenstrach

Cookbook & food memoir from a mom with two kids less than two years apart. May not resonate with everyone, but I couldn’t put it down.

Wedding Night, by Sophie Kinsella

Another funny story from Shopaholic author, but a little too much language and adult content for my taste.

Make the Bread, Buy the Butter, by Jennifer Reese

Tons of great recipes and information. Already made the bagels. Can’t wait to try making my own worchestershire sauce.

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte

More proud than I probably should be for finally reading this classic. Didn’t love it, but would be willing to read it again someday.

Fast Food Nation, by Eric Schlosser

Probably earth-shattering 8 years ago, but nothing surprising  today. Not a page-turner, and definitely not for anyone with a weak stomach.

What Alice Forgot, by Liane Moriarty

My book club loved this one. Riveting right up to the very end. What would you do if you hit your head and lost 10 years of your life?

Bottled Up, by Suzanne Barston

More scientific than I expected, but still fascinating. Great read for any mom who’s ever fed her baby formula and felt guilty about it.

Find more great reviews at the Twitterature link up at Modern Mrs. Darcy.

To keep up with what I’m reading, following my board on Pinterest or find me on Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Seven quick summer reading reviews

  1. So many good ones here! I enjoyed flipping through Dinner: A Love Story, and have been working my way through Make the Bread, Buy the Butter all summer. I remember how earth-shattering Fast Food Nation was 8 years ago when I read it (ew! blech! yuck!) Loved What Alice Forgot (sounds like a great book club pick–so much fodder for conversation), and Bottled Up sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

