Church · Holidays

My Funny Valentines

Do you remember Xanga? It was around after Open Diary, but before Myspace or Twitter, back when blogging wasn’t something very many adults did.

I had one, way back then, when I was approaching 20 instead of 30, and was young enough to think all my thoughts were brilliant. I wrote on it all the time. A lot of what I wrote was about ministry and the Bible and the books I was reading and what was going on in my life and in my heart. So I guess not much has changed. Except I don’t know that I think all of it was quite as brilliant as it seemed to me a decade ago.

But every once in a while, I came up with something halfway decent, even back then. I was volunteering with the middle school girls in our church at the time. They were goofy and quirky and full of self-esteem issues, and I loved them fiercely. So one Valentines Day, I wrote this to them:

“PC middle school girls – i wish had enough money and time to go to each of your schools and bring you each chocolates and a dozen roses and sing you a song and let you know that you don’t have to be someone’s girlfriend to feel special today (or any other day for that matter).  i know it’s easy to get caught up in wanting a guy when it seems like everyone else around you is dating someone. but please know that you already are the princess in the fairy tale: you’re being romanced by the Prince of Peace.  He loves you more than you can even imagine. He’s the one who says to you: “You are beautiful…” “I choose you…”  “I want to hold your hand…” “You are mine…” “You are precious to me…”  (Psalm 45:11, Isaiah 41:9, 41:13, 43:1, 43:4).  Fall in love with HIM today.”

Lack of capitalization aside (I thought I was being cool; I wasn’t… sorry), there are a lot of thoughts in there I still agree with. Valentine’s Day can be hard if you don’t have someone special to share it with. Or maybe you are in a relationship, but you’ve hit a rough patch and a day you thought was going to be about celebrating love ends in a fight. Or maybe you’ve been married for a long time, and you feel like your husband doesn’t try anymore, so the day ends up being one big disappointment.

Whatever your expectations are for today, it’s safe to say that for a lot of people, they won’t be met as long as you are looking to a person to fulfill your need for love.

Relationships with people are a great thing, and I sincerely hope you do have friends or children or a lover to spend time with today. But even if you don’t, please do not let that lead you to believe you are unloved.

Because you are loved.

You are love-ly.

You are worth loving.

And God does love you, more than you can even fathom.

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:16-19

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

